Missing My Mentor – The Sage Who Dropped the Keys

Keys-3The small man
Builds cages for everyone
He knows.
While the sage,
Who has to duck his head
When the moon is low,
Keeps dropping keys all night long
For the
Beautiful
Rowdy
Prisoners
– Hafiz

If you’ve been fortunate enough in your life to have benefited from the influence, the teachings, the support of a remarkable mentor, then you will be able to empathize with (or envision) the incredible void that’s left when they die. How do you thank, celebrate and keep their spirit going when they’re gone? That, my friends, is what I’ve been wrestling with since my mentor and friend, Randall Kent Murphy, died last month.

I often tell people that my father taught me from 0-18 how to work very hard. Randall taught me how to work very hard to collaborate with others. For 20 years Randall was my mentor, my guide, my teacher, my friend.

Randall Murphy invented the term and pioneered the concept of co-create. His mission was to “co-create a more collaborative world; to inspire and enable people and companies all over the world to do better, to serve better, to co-create better.” He was leveraging the idea of collaboration as far back as 1985, long before it became a business buzzword in the 1990s. Randall created one of the top five performance development companies in the world, which is where I met him. He developed The Consultative Approach. He was the first one to promote the idea of having a selling process that was linked to the buying process. He’d say, “it’s hard to know where you are in the selling process if you don’t know where the client is in their buying process.” He was about creating value, not adding value, but creating value. He wasn’t about merely meeting needs, he was about achieving goals. You’ve often heard me say that you need to understand your client’s “goals, challenges and needs.” That’s straight from Randall’s mouth. Live it. Breathe it. How do you reconcile that someone who has taught you so much is no longer there to guide you?

Randall influenced me not only in my professional life, but in my personal life as well. I’m a better husband because of him. He taught me that you “don’t have a different set of listening skills when you come home from the office.” I’m a better father, because I learned to align and connect with my children similar to the way I align and connect with clients. I’m a better brother and a better son. I think that when you get really, really good at empathy and the emotional quotient of what happens in the business world, you can be more forgiving, and you can be softer. Softer on the people, and harder on the problem. If you can do that in business, you can do that with your family.

Randall taught me that when you get stuck, visualize your headlights. A typical reaction when you’re stuck is to become frozen. A car’s headlights only let you see about 200 feet ahead of you. All you have to do when you’re stuck is figure out the next 200 feet. Go do that. Keep moving and do the next 200 feet. When you are under pressure, overwhelmed, or feeling apathetic, just keeping thinking about the next 200 feet.

Each person on this planet has a light within us. The challenge is unlocking the door to let that light shine as bright as possible. Randall Murphy “dropped the keys” and unlocked that door for me. To honor his legacy, I’ll be out there dropping the keys for others.

Thank you, Randall.

Extrañando a mi Mentor – El Sabio que Dejo Caer las Llaves

El hombre pequeño
Construye jaulas para todos
Los que conoce.
Mientras que el sabio,
Que debe agachar su cabeza
Cuando la luna está baja,
Sigue dejando caer llaves toda la noche
Para los
Hermosos
Prisioneros
Revoltosos
– Hafiz

Si has sido lo suficientemente afortunado en tu vida para beneficiarte de la influencia, las enseñanzas y el apoyo de un mentor extraordinario entonces serás capaz de empatizar (o visualizar) el increíble vacío que queda cuando fallecen. ¿Cómo agradeces, celebras y mantienes su espíritu vigente cuando están ausentes? Eso, mis amigos, es con lo que he estado luchando desde que mi mentor y amigo, Randall Kent Murphy, falleció el mes pasado.

A menudo le digo a la gente que mi padre me enseñó desde los cero hasta los dieciocho años a trabajar arduamente. Randall me enseño como trabajar arduamente para colaborar con otros. Por 20 años Randall fue mi mentor, guía, maestro y amigo.

Randall Murphy acuñó el término y fue el pionero del concepto de co-crear. Su misión fue “co-crear un mundo de mayor colaboración; para inspirar y posibilitar a las personas y compañías de todo el mundo a hacerlo mejor, servir mejor, co-crear mejor.” El había venido apalancando la idea de la colaboración desde 1985, mucho antes de que se convirtiera en una palabra de moda en los negocios en la década de los noventas. Randall fundó una de las cinco mejores organizaciones para el desarrollo del desempeño en el mundo, que es donde lo conocí. Desarrolló El Enfoque Consultivo. Fue el primero en promover la idea de contar con un proceso de venta que estuviera vinculado con el proceso de compra. El decía “es difícil saber en dónde te encuentras en el proceso de venta si desconoces donde se encuentra el cliente en su proceso de compra.” Él era acerca de crear valor, no agregar valor, sino crear valor. Él no era acerca de simplemente de satisfacer necesidades, sino de alcanzar metas. A menudo me han escuchado decir que necesitas comprender las “metas, desafíos y necesidades” de tu cliente. Esto proviene directamente de la boca de Randall. Vívelo. Respíralo. ¿Cómo reconcilias que alguien que te ha enseñado tanto ya no esté ahí para guiarte?

Randall no sólo influyó en mi vida profesional, sino también en la personal. Soy un mejor esposo debido a él. Me enseño que “no dispones de un conjunto diferente de habilidades de escucha cuando regresas a casa de la oficina.” Soy un mejor padre ya que aprendí a alinearme y relacionarme con mis hijos de forma similar en que lo hago con los clientes. Pienso que puedes llegar a ser realmente muy bueno en la empatía y el cociente emocional de lo que sucede en el mundo de los negocios, puede ser más indulgente, y puedes ser más delicado. Más delicado con la gente y más fuerte con el problema. Si puedes hacerlo en el negocio, puedes hacerlo con tu familia.

Randall me enseñó que cuando estás atorado, debes visualizar tus faros delanteros. Una reacción típica al atorarte es quedarte congelado. El faro delantero de un auto sólo te permite ver los 60 metros por delante de ti. Todo lo que debes hacer al atorarte es imaginar los siguientes 60 metros. Ve y hazlo. Continúa avanzando y haz los siguientes 60 metros. Cuando te encuentres presionado, abrumado o sintiéndote apático, sólo mantente pensando en los siguientes 60 metros.

Cada persona en este planeta tiene una luz dentro de nosotros. El reto consiste en abrir la puerta para permitir que la luz alumbre tan brillante como sea posible. Randall Murphy “dejó caer las llaves” y abrió dicha puerta para mi. Para honrar su legado, estaré por ahí dejando caer las llaves para otros.

Gracias Randall.

Mon Mentor- Le Sage Qui Laissa Tomber Les Clés

Le petit home
Construit des cages pour le monde
Qu’il connait.
Pendant que le sage,
Qui doit pencher sa tête
Quand la lune est base,
Laisse tomber les clés
Pour les
Beaux
Bruyant
Prisonniers.
– Hafiz

Si vous avez eu la bonne fortune de connaître dans votre vie l’influence, les conseils et le support d’un mentor remarquable, vous serez en mesure de sympathiser (ou imaginer) l’immense vide qui est laissé par leur décès. Comment peut-on remercier, célébrer et maintenir leur esprit au vif lorsqu’ils sont partis? Cela, mes amis est ce dont je lutte contre depuis que mon mentor et ami Randall Kent Murphy est décédé le mois passé.

Je dis souvent aux gens que mon père m’appris dès ma jeunesse à travailler fort mais que Randall m’a appris à travailler fort et à collaborer. Pour 20 ans Randall fut mon mentor, mon guide, mon enseignant, mon ami.

Randall Murphy à inventer le concept et le mot « co-création ». Sa mission était de « co-créer un monde plus collaboratif; d’inspirer et de permettre aux personnes et aux compagnies à travers le monde de s’améliorer, de mieux servir et de mieux co-créer ». Il utilisait l’idée de collaboration depuis 1985, bien avant que les compagnies ne s’en servent comme mot à la mode dans les années 1990. Randall a créé une des cinq meilleures compagnies de développement de performance dans le monde et c’est durant ce temps que je fis sa connaissance. Il développa l’approche consultative. Il fut le à promouvoir l’idée d’un processus de vente qui était lié au processus d’achat. Il disait « il est difficile de connaître où nous sommes dans le processus de vende si nous ne savons pas où se trouver le client dans le processus d’achat ». Il se centrait sur la création de valeur et non pas sur la valeur additionnelle, mais sur la création de valeur. Il ne se contentait pas à répondre aux besoins, il cherchait à achever des buts. Vous m’avez entendu souvent dire qu’il faut comprendre les « buts, défis, et besoins » de vos clients. Cela vient directement de Randall. It faut vivre ce message. Comment réconcilier qu’une personne qui vous a tellement appris n’est plus là pour vous guider?

Randall m’a influencé non seulement dans ma vie professionnelle, mais aussi dans ma vie personnelle. Je suis un meilleur époux à cause de lui. Il m’a appris « qu’il ne faut pas des différentes compétences d’écoute lorsque l’on reviens chez soi après le travail ». Je suis un meilleur père parce que j’ai appris à m’aligner et m’engager avec mes enfants de la même manière dont je m’aligne et m’engage avec mes clients. Je suis un meilleur frère et fils. Je crois que lorsqu’on devient très accomplie à sympathiser et le quotient émotionnel de ce qui se passe dans l’espace de travail, on peut pardonner davantage et être plus doux. Plus doux avec les gens et plus corsés sur le problème. Si cela peut se faire dans le monde des affaires, vous pouvez le faire avec votre famille.

Randall m’a appris que lorsqu’on est pris, il faut visualiser ses phares. Une réaction typique à un défi est de rester figée. Les phares d’une automobile permettent environ 200 pieds de visibilité à l’avant. Lorsqu’on est pris, il faut se concentrer sur les prochains 200 pieds. Essayer-le. Continuer à avancer 200 pieds. Lorsque vous êtes sous pression, débordé, ou vous êtes apathique, penser au prochains 200 pieds.

Chaque personne sur cette planète à une lumière interne. Le défi est d’ouvrir cette porte et laisser briller au maximum cette lumière. Randall Murphy a « laissé tomber la clé » et m’a ouvert cette porte. Pour honorer son héritage, je m’engage à laisser tomber la clé pour les autres.

Merci Randall.

  One thought on “Missing My Mentor – The Sage Who Dropped the Keys

  1. Dana Conover
    July 20, 2015 at 2:56 pm

    Wow! The most powerful message I’ve ever read. Words of truth from the heart. Doesn’t get any better than that. Thanks for sharing and carry on!

    >

  2. July 20, 2015 at 3:12 pm

    Bonjour,
    Des mots, des mots, et de langues qui changent de sens selon les perceptions.
    Un bon maître se fait toujours dépassé par son élève, ainsi va la vie depuis le début de l’humanité.
    Cordialement

  3. Jo Ann Crabtree
    July 20, 2015 at 3:59 pm

    Wow…very nicely written, thanks for reminding all of us who had the pleasure of working with Randal.

  4. Renee French
    July 22, 2015 at 11:57 pm

    I am sorry to hear that you lost such a special and influential person in your life. I will pray for you through this sad time. I love you, Renée

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • July 22, 2015 at 11:59 pm

      Thank you Renée…with struggle comes growth. Your kind words are most welcome and appreciated. I love you.

Leave a comment